top of page
Non ci sono ancora tag.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Unravel me


TITLE: Unravel me (shatter me #2) WRITTEN BY: Tahereh Mafi HOW I GOT IT: bookdepository VERSION I READ: paperback GENRE: young adult, arcs, fantasy, contemporary

Review: At first, it's been really weird.

So, I have to say that it's been like 2 years since I read the first book -- I've bought 'Unravel Me' few days after I've finished 'Shatter me' but the story didn't really coinvince me and I had more attractive books that were calling me (you know how it happens) and at the end it just standed there on the shelf; recently I've made this list with all my unfinished sagas and trilogy and I've forced myself to finish at least a few of them before starts other one. SO HERE I AM. I've found my self drag in this dystopian world after two years and I had few problems to adjust myself to Juliette's story (thank you Goodreads buddies for the help!) and then it went all super-fast: it's so easy to read a book like this -- well written, it's not boring and it's intriguing.. every single characters has something to say (well, almost.)

I adore Mafi's style, especially all the delete line: every thought that Juliette doesn't want or regret to have it just got delete but the reader can still see it. THAT'S BRILLIANT! What I really don't enjoy is the love triangle that, after this book's discovery, looks like the vampire diaries A LOT -- and yes, I hate love triangle: I love struggle, drama or whatever in a love story but not a triangle: it's so old! Beside I don't like how Juliette reacts by hormones to this love triangle: she doesn't have respect for both the boys and especially HERSELF. She's so selfish. CALM DOWN GIRL! What I like about Juliette instead is her morals; she has this fatal power that can kill whoever she barely touch and even if she's in war she decides to not kill everybody in the enemies line because

"What I really want to say is who the hell are you to decide who gets to die"

I like this -- My hope for the next book is that she embraces her power and learn to control it (and her hormones too). And then there are ADAM and WARNER -- okay, I get you all love Warner: he's a bad guy who occasionally becomes soft especially in front of Juliette, but still he's a freaking psycho so I can't really see his good side even during his love declaration (that was a good one) Instead Adam is such a puppy: he's sweet, he's protecting her since the war began and he's not entirely immune to her power but he's willing to risk it. WHERE'S YOUR TENDERNESS?

Favourite Character

KENJI -- who almost died in this book, I've thought for a few minutes that he was actually dead and I've almost throw my book under the train and yell "WHY ALWAYS MY FAVOURITE!" and than he wasn't!

Favourite Quote

"I'm the train.

I'm the one carrening out of control.

Sometimes you see yourself -- you see yourself the way you could be -- the way you might be if things were different. And if you look too closely, what you see will scare you.

You know there's a different side of yourself you don't want to recognize, a side you don't want to see in day light. You spend all your whole life doing everything to push it down and away, out of sight, out of mind. You pretende that a piace of yourself doesn't exist.

For a long time, you're safe.

And then you're not."

Recommend the book!

TO ALL THE DYSTOPIAN FAN. Hunger games fan? Maze Runner fan? Even Agents of Shield fan? (There's a scene where Juliette remembered me about Sky/Daisy) There are a lot of love, deaths, people with super-powers who get called in a line 'INHUMANS' (*Marvel's CALLING*), a dystopian world that you can barely see, bad jokes, an awesome sidekick and really good declarations of LOVE. There's even a love triangle, if you're a fan you know.

bottom of page