top of page
Non ci sono ancora tag.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

One


TITLE: One WRITTEN BY: Sarah Crossan HOW I GOT IT: bookdepository VERSION I READ: paperback GENRE: young adult, contemporary, poetry.

Review: I love Sarah Crossan, she's one of my favourite writer in the young adult world; she writes about real problems and she doesn't make all about love and love relationship. I love the fact that she creates REAL CHARACTERS who faces their challenges with their own forces. I love that her books are real. It's not that common. My Sarah's first book was 'Breathe' and I fell in love with it: it talks about a world where the oxygen is so limited that you've to spend money to actually breath. Sarah Crossan use her finest gift of telling story to raise awereness for a particular issue; that's exactly what she does in ONE.


I've wanted to read 'One' since months now and when I've finally been able to enjoy it everything followed my expectations. 'One' presented itself like an heartbreaking story about Tippi and Grace life -- two conjoined twins -- written in verses.This novel is a work of fiction but at the same time it's so real. As Sarah mentioned in the last pages Tippi and Grace's story are based on a mix of real life cojoined twins stories: many conjoined twins have lived an happy life, they've married and had children; sadly a lot of them didn't have the same luck. This book would be so painful, but it's a story that need to be lived and loved. It will change your perspective of life.


The doctors have predicted that Tippi and Grace wouldn't have reached their 2nd birthday, instead they're 17 now and it finally comes the time for their first day of school. IN A REAL SCHOOL. With real teenagers. It's time for them to face the real world. How will the world react to them?

This book is overwhelming -- it describes in the particular how it would be life with a conjoined twin; everybody is scared of diversity. People will see you differently, they won't see you as a single person but as a set of something. People are terrible. But -- and here comes the light, the HOPE, there are really few people who put away the differences and try to understand you and treat you like a HUMAN BEING.





Favourite Character

It's Grace. I don't know why, maybe because everything was under her point of view so I've been able to emphatize more with her than Tippi. SHE LOVES TO READ. So.

Favourite Quote

"This is my story. It is a single story, not two tales tangled up in each other like lover’s limbs, as you might expect."

Recommend the book: Oh yes! You're gonna love this story!

I recommend this reading to every human being with a soul: it's a story that has to be read and every person should have more Sarah Crossan in their lives! How can you have not read something of hers? EDUCATE YOURSELF and help the world be a better place!

bottom of page