top of page
Non ci sono ancora tag.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Forbidden Wish

TITLE: The Forbidden Wish WRITTEN BY: Jessica Khoury HOW I GOT IT: amazon VERSION I READ: ebook GENRE: retelling, romance, fantasy.

Review: Okay, I'm trying. This is my first retelling and I actually don't know where to start write this review; I'm not that enthusiastic as a lot other readers about this book. I didn't have a lot of expectations and I know nothing about the plot, just that was a retelling about Aladdin. A L A D D I N --- who doesn't love Aladdin???? I DO!!!

The book was good. Its writing is magnificent. And I really enjoy it. Especially Caspida who is a lot better version of Jasmine, but I really didn't like the fact the writer changed an amazing friendship into a love story.

I understand that it's a retelling and it MUST HAVE BE different from the original story, but..

WHY EVERYTHING NEEDS TO BE A LOVE STORY?!

I'm kind of tired of the fact that everybody needs to have a soulmate, otherwise there's not a story. IT'S NOT LIKE THAT OKAY? A person exists even without a boyfriend/girlfriend.

The entire lovestory came out of the blue. When is this even happened? I love LOVE STORY. I ADORE THEM. I'm an eater for DRAMA. Just keep give it to me. But this was just so suddenly.

When I'm sucked in a good love story there are the pillars that keep solid the relationship. An event. An exact moment when he follows in love with her and she follows in love with him. And I just really didn't see this here. Sorry. (I know that Aladdin is about a love story too and maybe I'm taking it a lot on personal matter here. I don't want to be hursh with this book because I really like it but I was really looking foward to read something about friendship). The story could be utterly awesome even with a friendship. A good friendship. A true one. And the title of the book could still make sense.


Now I'll put aside the love story thing and can actually talk about the book itself.

The story is entirely written by Zahra's POW: I appreciated the fact that the writer didn't choose the most obvious character (Aladdin) and made Zahra the lead character, even if she is the only non-human character Zahra is super easy to emphatize with and related to.

When Zahra gets out the lamp for the first time and takes a female form I was totally lost for a minute.

And I keep figure the jinni out as the Genie from the Disney movie. I really had a difficult time to adjust this changing; for like half the story I've convinced myself that it wasn't her real form -- I mean that was kind of true, but not as I've thought.


The story itself is super-captivating and you just can't stop reading it. You want to know everything about Zahra's past, especially I wanted to know all about Habiba who is this figure Zahra keep talk with in her thoughts. We know that she's someone from her past and we'll know her true identity only at the end of the book.


P.s. I missed Abu :(( Can I have a retelling only with him and Genie?

“You can’t choose what happens to you,

but you can choose who you become because of it."EndFragment

Favourite Character Caspida -- I LOVED HER!

She's a badass version of Jasmine and I've followed in love with her since the first moment.

Caspida is the princess and next heir to the throne; but she's not a classy princess who lives at court and drinks tea or whatever royal people do outside England! NOPE. She's a respectable princess by day but during the night she becomes FENIX who is a vigilante (I could totally use this word) fights for her people: Caspida sends free all the people wrongly condamned by her evil-uncle who just wants the power! Caspida/Fenix couldn't have done this without her maids (her ninja maids). #girlpower

Favourite Quote

[if lte IE 9]> <link rel="stylesheet" media="all" href="https://s.gr-assets.com/assets/goodreads_split2-6aa547e98727d91f3ee044c94e3f3974.css" /> <![endif][if lt IE 9]> <link rel="stylesheet" media="screen" href="https://s.gr-assets.com/assets/ie-243e73b5c2539766a7d02b37fdf277f8.css" /> <![endif][if lt IE 8]> <link rel="stylesheet" media="screen" href="https://s.gr-assets.com/assets/common_images_ie-7473c41f112e67c8b25fca50b8a0f140.css" /> <![endif][if gte IE 8]><!<![endif]

StartFragment“Because happiness itself is a mythical construct, a dream you humans tell yourselves to get through each day. It is the moon, and you, like the sun, pursue it relentlessly, chasing it around and around, getting nowhere.” EndFragment

Recommend the book: Oh yes, if you love Aladdin and want to start a retelling this is the book FOR YOU! 'The forbidden wish' is a story about love, friendship and freedom.

There's no love triangle: that's a point for Jessica. Don't expect the friendship that you see in the movie and you won't be disappointed. GO READ IT NOW!

bottom of page