top of page
Non ci sono ancora tag.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The unbecoming of Mara Dyer


TITLE: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer WRITTEN BY: Michelle Hodkin HOW I GOT IT: bookdepository VERSION I READ: paperback GENRE: young adult, arcs, horror, fantasy, contemporary.

Review: The book is surprisingly amazing and it's a real page turner, I could have read it in a pair of days if I didn't have to work 8/9 hours a day. The story is so captivating that you can't put the book down, I'm not saying this lightly I mean I almost missed my train stop when I was coming home from work (that would be unfortunately lol). I don't even remember when was the last time that I've found a saga so thrilling as Mara Dyer. The book is the first of a trilogy and starts with this premise:

"My name is not Mara Dyer, but my lawyer told me I had to choose something. A pseudonym. A nom de plume, for all of us studying for the SATs.(..) This is what I remember."

So, I've been amused by it since page 1 because this premise shows you that there is much more to the story than what you're going to read and you're gonna drag the sentence "My name is not Mara Dyer" for all your reading experience, it will never leave you alone. Even at the end of the book you don't know where the story will go and it makes you crazy: it ends with a cliffhanger (of course) that I won't spoil you because it will ruin all the first book storyline.

 

The story starts with an ouja board that predicts Mara is going to kill her bestfriend Rachel, all we know is that a few pages later Mara wakes up in an hospital and her friends died under the collapsing of an old building and she doesn't remember a thing: all the memories will start to come back during night as dreams. The book has been written by Mara's POW so the reader can experience how Mara's mind works and can assimilate all the confusion of the main character and we even reach a point when we don't even know what's real and what's just an illusion. Mara will find the truth thanks to Noah who I genuinely fall in love with: a weird british guy who is meant to have a love relationship with Mara; Noah know more that he wants to tell and he's gonna help Mara to solve the big mistery of her life.

Favourite Character

Noah Shaw has all the cards for being my favourite character, so:

  1. he has a british accent (Bloody Hell!)

  2. he seems to be a bad boy (hello there -- such a clichè here!)

  3. he turns to be so sweet and romantic (SO MANY POINTS!)

  4. he feels guilty about Mara's identity (YES, definitely my boy!)

  5. he's a little creepy: he asks Mara's brother about her story.

Favourite Quote

“Fix me," I commanded him. "This thing, what I've done - there's something wrong with me, Noah. Fix it." Noah's expression broke my heart as he brushed my hair from my face, and skimmed the line of my neck. "I can't" "Why not?" I asked, my voice threatening to crack. "Because," he said, "You're not broken.”

Recommend the book: YES. YES. YES. If you're into trilogy and need an unique story dyed in mistery and deaths well THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. If not, just give it a chance to this amazing saga! You won't regret it. It could not reach a 5 star just because it's the first of the trilogy and I'm so confuse about it.

Sorry, now I need to buy the sequel of this or I'm going insane. WHO IS MARA?

bottom of page